Advertisement

Name that bug!

topic posted Wed, May 25, 2005 - 3:31 PM by  The Hun
Share/Save/Bookmark
Well, I have a bug in my home that I'm very curious about. I'm relatively new to Missouri, and haven't paid much attention to the insect population since I've lived here over the past few years. My landlord, upon moving into my apartment, was very paranoid about getting bugs. He's apparently had them before. Once spring hit, we started to see small, brown, almost trangular shaped flying insects hovering about the place. They didn't seem to be interested in any open food, they were just "hanging out" as far as I could tell. I started wondering where they were coming from, but couldn't find any clues. One night, I witnessed two apparently mating near my cieling fan. Disturbed by my prying, they flew onto a nearby wall, ajoined the entire way from behind. I was pretty impressed that they could keep their wings in rhythm to make the flight. Then, a few days ago, I started noticing tiny little brown bugs, about the size of a pin head, laying on their backs in my bathroom on the windowsill. They appeared to be dead, but when I blew on them, they uprighted themselves and walked about briefly. They are about the size of a pin head. I decided to get some pictures of them, and found that they had very attractive patterns. The smallest of them are a uniform dull brown, but the larger, and I'm assuming more mature, have rough stripes running opposite to their body length. Here are some photos! Anyone know what these are?

img.photobucket.com/albums/v...gs004.jpg
img.photobucket.com/albums/v...gs003.jpg
img.photobucket.com/albums/v...gs002.jpg
img.photobucket.com/albums/v...gs001.jpg
posted by:
The Hun
St. Louis
Advertisement
  • Re: Name that bug!

Wed, May 25, 2005 - 3:37 PM
    I've been reading, and I think I may have figured them out. They look like Indianmeal moths when they have wings. Basically, they're a "pantry pest." They eat grain products typically.